Quick early morning breakfast ideas

 

Twice a week, I am up at the crack of dawn to get to my class in Toronto. Literally at the crack of dawn- my first alarm goes off at 5:00AM and second goes off at 5:15AM. As someone who can’t go a morning without breakfast, I have to find the perfect balance between light, on-the-go, and nutritious.

Bowl of cereal and milk, or oatmeal, are too heavy to eat this early in the morning. I tend to pack heavy breakfast and enjoy it later in the morning. When I’m a zombie, I just want something I can grab and go. If you’re looking for some ideas, here are my favourite grab and go breakfast recommendations:

1. BANANA

A banana gives me an instant, sustained and substantial boost of energy.

2. NUT BUTTER

Nut Butter keeps me satiated for just the right amount of time.

3. DRY CEREAL IN A BAGGIE

When I’m in a pinch, I’ll prep a small baggie of dry cereal to munch on.

4. HARD-BOILED EGGS

Eggs are easy to prep the night before. Simply boil the eggs. Once cool, peel and throw the eggs in a baggie with some salt/pepper and…violá! A typical medium-sized egg has about 6g of protein in it; again, the perfect amount of food to keep me satiated for a while.

5. OATMEAL BAR

I suggest looking for bars that have oats, nutbutters, chopped nuts, etc.  The nuts/nutbutters are full of healthy fats/protein and the oats are a great source of fiber. Also, there are tons of recipes for DIY oatmeal bars. Have fun baking 🙂

LET’S CHAT:
-DO YOU EAT BREAKFAST IN THE MORNING?
-WHAT ARE YOUR FAVORITE MORNING SNACKS?
Leave a Reply

