THE FOOD MOVEMENT: VOTE WITH YOUR FORK

I just completed the first week of my work as a food bank coordinator at University of Toronto, Mississauga, and I’m already in love with my job. I feel incredibly fortunate that every day, I get to read and learn about issues/information that I would normally read about in my own free time.

At work, while we all come from very different backgrounds and academic interests, we are connected in one simple way: We want to help people. These days, it’s rare to be surrounded by people who are motivated by something other than their own personal gain.

Today, I want to share more of my passion for nutrition. Some of my interests are in health disparities, community health (specifically aimed towards low-income families), food access, and food policy.

Last night, I watched “What the food movement can learn from history” by Alison Cayne. Watch the TedTalk if you have spare time and please join the movement!

TEDTALK:What the food movement can learn from history: Alison Cayne

This TedTalk is everything I love learning about as a nutrition enthusiast. It’s my dream to help make fair food a reality.

To quote Cayne,

“For those of you outside of the food movement who don’t realize we have a problem, we do. So it’s time to get on board.”

“What does a fair food system look like?

  • It’s when every school child can eat a nutritious lunch every day.
  • It means that fresh vegetables are available at every corner store in even the poorest neighborhoods.
  • It means that those who have very little to spend on food aren’t forced into a diet of sugary and processed foods that makes them sick.
  • It means that farmers don’t have to be worried about paying for their kids’ education because their work is valued.
  • It means that people know what they’re buying because they have real choice and can see the label.”

Let’s chat:

  • Do you like reading about topics such as these? What would you like to read more about on Its Simply a Lifestyle? Please let me know!
