A NEW CHAPTER

TODAY, I’M BEYOND EXCITED TO REVEAL IT’S SIMPLY A LIFESTYLE.

A blog about discovering your healthiest life by exploring connections between wellness, self care, and what you eat. Through this blog, I hope to help others put happiness back into their healthy lifestyle.

I wanted to share a little about why I chose health and wellbeing as my focus.

WHY “IT’S SIMPLY A LIFESTYLE”?

Every blogger has a different reason for why they started, and where they want to take their blog. I think for a lot of us it starts out pretty causally. I started off with vlogging, sharing and talking about personal life and experiences. I vlogged about exercising, what I was eating, and dove into the healthy living vlogger community. It was just a hobby for me.

It wasn’t until recently, that I realized this was more than a hobby to me (Thanks to my employment journey with GoodLife Fitness).

The idea that I could connect and potentially have an impact on someone’s life, even in the smallest way, propelled me forward. I was going through my own recovery from food obsession and restrictive eating that had haunted me for years. Until I had enough and changed and started living my the motto of “It’s simply a lifestyle” which grow helped me grow and heal.

I was diagnosed with PCOS (Polycystic ovarian syndrome), a problem in which hormones are out of balance causing problems in menstruation and pregnancy, in my late teens. My every visit to the gynaecologist’s clinic asked me to “CHANGE MY LIFESTYLE”.

Like most of the people, I associated change in lifestyle with eating less and exercising more. I started experiencing food obsession, I was thinking too hard in decisions I was making in eating the 100 calorie pack of Oreo cookies or limiting myself to a piece of bread. Even though I was losing weight, I was not satisfied and my hormones were still out of balance.

When I was able to start focusing less about what I was eating specifically, every second, every day, I really had more energy to dive into so many other things including relationships, passions that I have outside of food. It helped food become a normal thing in my life. I started looking for other ways to bring myself happiness. My personal satisfaction was no longer derived by the fact that I stayed within the limits I set for myself or because I didn’t have any cheat meals or cheat snack that day. Instead, I started deriving my energy  and happiness from real things- relationships and ambitions.

IMG_4880.PNGToday, I very much live my life exactly as I feel like living it in the sense that I do not count calories, I do not count macros, I eat when I am hungry, and I stop when I am not, and I allow myself to indulge and breaking away from feeling restricted, feeling guilty from eating food has been one of the most freeing and wonderful change I have ever made to my life. And Guess What? My hormones are in balance and I am content in my life.

MY PERSONAL HEALTH JOURNEY HAS EVOLVED AND SO HAS MY OUTLOOK ON WHAT HEALTHY LIVING MEANS

Obviously I believe that you are what you eat and what you put in your body is huge component of your health. However, as I have explored health and recovery (my personal experience), I have realized that mental health, wellness and your relationships are equally important to health, happiness, and well-being.

 

I CAN MAKE THE BIGGEST IMPACT BY SHARING CONTENT THAT EXPLORES HEALTH THROUGH A WIDER LENS.

This year has been really exciting. For the first time I feel like I am moving forward with my health and happiness rather than being sucked into another cycle of food obsession, restrictive eating, and self doubt. It took me several years to completely recover from my food obsession, but now more than ever, I feel that my health starts from inside. The more I focus on how I feel, my mental health, and my well-being, the easier it is to eat food that tastes and feels good to my body.

With this in mind, I want to focus on mental/ emotional/ relational aspects of health and happiness in addition to healthy vegetarian recipes.

I believe that the strengths in this blog is when I can write from my heart about my experiences and shed some light on issues a lot of us deal with on our journey to becoming the best versions of ourselves.

IMG_5221

WHY I AM SCARED TO START THIS NEW CHAPTER?

I can’t express my excitement to begin this new chapter of my life. I feel connected to this content and I can’t wait to connect with all of you guys through it.

Starting a blog is super scary. Sharing my experiences makes me vulnerable and vulnerability is not my greatest suit. I always have this fear that revealing my authentic self can be misunderstood, labeled, or rejected.

But with vulnerability, I believe one can experience true connection with audience.

I know I might lose some of you after this first post, and that is okay, but to those who stick around, thank you. I can’t wait to be on this quest of healthy living together!

I am not a health expert but I love to document my journey and I want you all to be a part of it.

THANK YOU AND CAN’T WAIT FOR MY NEXT POST 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

